Skip to content ↓

Our Curriculum

Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum


The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum is made up of seven areas of learning;

 3 prime areas and 4 specific areas.

The prime areas of learning are:

Communication and Language

- Physical Development

- Personal, Social and Emotional Development


The specific areas of learning are:

- Literacy

- Mathematics

- Understanding of the World

- Expressive Arts and Design


Barnfields' Early Years Curriculum


At Barnfields, we have designed a bespoke Early Years' Curriculum which is exciting, ambitious and progressive. It incorporates our Curriculum drivers of Values, Ambition, Relevance, Enquiry, Knowledge and Retrieval, and links directly to the progression maps of the rest of the school. Our Curriculum ensures that children gain the necessary foundations for a smooth transition as they move into Key Stage 1.

Our Curriculum is carefully sequenced so that children begin their learning journey thinking about themselves, and their surroundings before they move on to explore contrasting locations such as Antarctica. We incorporate high quality texts into our Curriculum and use these to widen children's vocabulary and experiences.

Our Curriculum is accessible for all children and teachers are highly skilled at providing the necessary scaffolding and support to allow all children to succeed.